top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana Donaldson

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting

YELLOW CAKE

Time: 50 minutes

Servings: 12

📷

CAKE

2 ½ cups gluten-free flour

1 ¾ cups cane sugar

1 ½ teaspoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon table salt

1 ¼ cups almond milk

½ cup avocado oil

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 eggs

3 egg yolks

CHOCOLATE FROSTING

¼ cup cocoa powder

2 cups powdered sugar

2 teaspoons cornstarch

¼ cup hot water

½ cup salted sweet cream butter (softened)

½ cup (4 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate baking bar

3 tablespoons almond milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.

Mix the flour, cane sugar, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.

In a separate bowl mix the almond milk, avocado oil, vanilla, eggs, and egg yolks. Once mixed, gradually add the wet ingredients to the bowl of dry ingredients, mixing between each pour.

Once combined, pour the batter into the sprayed pan (the batter should be a little more watery than regular cake batters). Put the pan in the oven for 28-31 minutes. Check the state of the cake by sticking a fork in the center. If the fork comes out with some crumbs on it, then the cake is ready.

Let the cake cool.

Mix the cocoa powder, powdered sugar, and cornstarch in a bowl. Once it is evenly mixed, add the hot water and stir.

Add the butter and mix until creamy.

Break the baking bar into quarter-sized pieces, then heat until it’s completely melted. If the microwave is used for this step, put the pieces in a bowl, then put in the microwave for 30-second intervals, mixing in between each period.

Add the melted baking bar into the mixture and stir, gradually adding the almond milk and vanilla at the same time. Once the frosting is creamy, it is ready.

Frost the cake once it is completely cooled.


HAPPY BIRTHDAY


Hiding under a pile of laundry on the cold tiled floor of the cell-sized laundry room, I heard footsteps marching down the hall and the loud creak of the door swinging open. I held my breath while I attempted to hide my laughter. The door creaked again followed by footsteps down the hall, signalling that the seeker had left.


I had been under this heavy pile of clothes for so long that beads of sweat were starting to drip down my forehead. Patience was never my strong suit, so my way of success in this game was to move as often as possible. I stood up, pieces of clothing falling off of my torso, then crept out of the room, being careful with the creaky door, and tiptoeing down the hallway.


“Cake time!” I heard Mom’s voice call.


I dashed into the kitchen, my sock-covered feet sliding on the slippery tiled floor. The sound of running feet behind me told me that my siblings and best friend were coming too.

Lit rainbow candles were sticking out of the top of a chocolate frosting covered yellow cake sitting at the end of our long wooden dining table, the lights above dimly lit. Sprinting over to the head of the table, I plopped onto a hard wooden chair, stinging my bony bottom. The candlelight warmed my face and made everything appear slightly orange, while the rich scent of the chocolate frosting made my mouth water. I threw my thick brown hair over my shoulders to prevent it from catching fire, though I couldn’t protect my bushy eyebrows from the flames. I remembered hearing stories about eyebrows burning off, but I quickly brushed that thought away. I counted the ten candles, their brightly colored wax starting to drip onto the sparkling brown frosting. Once everyone was gathered around the table, the song began.


“Happy birthday to you! Happy birthday to you!”


I never knew where to look when this song started, so I focussed on the cake’s creamy frosting, my stomach growling.


Finally, when everyone was finished singing, I shut my eyes tightly and crossed my fingers, wishing that summer would never end. I opened my big brown eyes, inhaled deeply, then blew out all of the candles in one breath. Loud applause and cheers filled my ears as I stared up at the smiling faces of my friends and family.


I helped Mom pick the candles out of the cake, making sure to lick the frosting off of each one, occasionally getting bitter drops of chewy wax in my mouth. Mom grabbed a shimmering knife and cut into the soft cake, revealing the golden-yellow insides. She set a giant piece onto a purple paper plate, then set it in front of me because the birthday girl always gets the first piece. My fork easily cut off a bite-sized piece that was covered in thick chocolate frosting. Bringing it to my mouth, I could smell the sugary goodness of the yellow cake and chocolate. The soft texture of the cake mixed with the thick creamy texture of the frosting was perfect, along with the sweet flavors. After the first bite, I quickly gobbled down the rest with a huge smile on my face.

📷


Inspired by:

Bocks, Shay. “Gluten Free Yellow Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting -.” Flippin'

Delicious, Genesis Framework, 15 Feb. 2019,

flippindelicious.com/2018/02/gluten-free-yellow-cake-chocolate-fudge-frosting.html.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page